What Does The Number 5 Mean In The Bible

What Does The Number 5 Mean In The Bible?

In the bible, the number five has various different meanings. It can represent sacrificial death, grace, or healing, among other things. A deeper dive into the bible reveals its frequency and importance. In many instances, the number five is mentioned multiple times or in succession, and frequently appears in key scenes.

The five most commonly mentioned purposes for the number five in the Bible are grace, healing, sacrificial death, Revelation, and the five solas of the Reformation. In the book of Genesis, God provided grace and healing when Abraham was asked to sacrifice his son, Isaac. After this sacrifice, he formed a covenant with Abraham; the sign of the covenant being a ram caught in the thicket by its horns – representing the five horns of the ram.

In the book of Revelation, Jesus Christ is seen as the Lamb sacrificed for the sins of mankind. The number five is also repeatedly mentioned in relation to the healing of lepers in the four gospels. In all cases, the number is usually referenced as “five loaves of bread,” representing the healing of five people.

The five solas of the Reformation are another important aspect of the number five. These solas taught by the Reformers are: sola Scriptura (Bible alone), sola fide (faith alone), sola gratia (grace alone), sola Christus (Christ alone), and soli Deo Gloria (glory to God alone). This is used to emphasize the foundational principles of their faith.

Sacrificial Death

Sacrificial death is the most common meaning associated with the number five. It appears in the Bible multiple times in relation to five sacrifices, including the ram caught in the thicket and Abraham’s son Isaac.

In addition, Jesus was sacrificed on the fifth day of Passover as a substitute for the firstborn of the Israelite people. The paschal lamb that was slaughtered during this time was also sacrificed on this day, which is why it is associated with the number five.

The Book of Revelation also introduces the Lamb of God. This lamb was slaughtered as a substitute for the sins of mankind and was referred to as the “Lamb of God who takes away the sins of the world”. Jesus being referred to as the Lamb of God further emphasizes the importance of the number five in relation to sacrificial death.


The healing of lepers is a recurring theme in the four gospels. Jesus is seen healing five lepers, one of whom went to tell people of his healing, the other four went to show themselves to the priests for proof. This again shows the significance of the number five in relation to healing.

In addition to this, the loaves of bread and the two fishes that were used by Jesus to feed the multitude were broken into five pieces. The five pieces are seen to represent the healing of five people, with the two fishes representing the healing of two people.

The five wounds of Jesus on the cross, as described in the Gospels of John and Matthew, are also seen as representing his healing of the nations. The five wounds – two on each hands, one on the feet – were said to be a symbol of Jesus’s healing power and a reminder to humanity of his mercy.


The number five is also associated with grace. When God formed his covenant with Abraham, he promised him to make him a great nation and a Blessing to all nations – a symbol of his grace. This promise was a sign of God’s faithfulness to his people.

In Luke 7:47, Jesus talks of a woman washing his feet with her tears and anointing them with ointment, which were two signs representing five acts of grace. The woman’s tears represent her mourning for her sins, while the ointment is seen as a sign of her obedience.

Furthermore, during the Eucharist, the Host is broken into five pieces. This is seen as a symbol of God’s grace being bestowed upon us through his son, Jesus Christ. The five pieces are said to represent the five graces given to us at Baptism: adoption, forgiveness, reconciliation, renewal and justification.


The number five is also linked to the Book of Revelation. The Book of Revelation references the four beasts, the four horsemen and the twenty-four elders, all of which represent the number five. Five is said to represent revelation, as it reveals the truth of God to the world.

In the Book of Revelation, the four beasts are seen as representing the four corners of the earth, while the four horsemen, found in the sixth chapter, represent the four winds of the heaven. The twenty-four elders represent the twelve tribes of Israel, plus the twelve apostles of Jesus.

The number five also appears in the Book of Revelation as the symbol of the Lamb of God, which is a symbol of Jesus’s sacrifice for mankind. Jesus is referred to as the Lamb of God throughout the book, which further emphasizes the importance of the number five in relation to revelation.

Five Solas Of The Reformation

The five solas of the Reformation can be traced to the sixteenth century. The solas are five Latin phrases which summarize the main principles of the Reformation: sola Scriptura, sola fide, sola gratia, sola Christus, and soli Deo Gloria. The five solas emphasize the importance of the Bible, faith, grace, Christ and glory to God.

The first sola, sola Scriptura, emphasizes the importance of the scriptures as the sole source of truth and authority. The second sola emphasizes the importance of faith in Jesus Christ. The third sola, sola gratia, emphasizes the importance of grace, while sola Christus emphasizes the importance of Jesus Christ in Christianity. The fifth sola, soli Deo Gloria, emphasizes the glory of God.

The five solas are used to emphasize the core beliefs of the Reformation, which are still integral components of the Christian faith today. In many Protestant churches, the five solas are seen as the foundation for their beliefs and teachings.


The number five has many different meanings in the Bible. It is repeatedly used to represent grace, healing, sacrificial death, revelation and the five solas of the Reformation. Each of these meanings is significant to Christianity and serves as a reminder of the faith’s importance and its relevance to the world today.

Marcos Reyna is a Christian author and speaker. He is dedicated to helping create disciples of Christ through spreading the power of the gospel to others. He has written several books and articles on a variety of theological topics, including matters of faith, worship, biblical studies, practical ethics, and social justice. A trained theologian and devotee of spiritual writing, Marcos has a mission to spread Christian love everywhere. He lives with his family in Nashville, TN where he spends his days encouraging others to seek Christ's grace in all things.

Leave a Comment